The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 Recap

The Best FIFA Football Awards were held on the 24th of September in London this year. The selection panels had been announced three months prior to the event, in July. 

Modrić named Best Men’s Player of the year

Luka Modrić was named the Best FIFA Men’s Player 2018 with over 29% of the vote, beating Mohamed Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo. We could have used a Bwin promo code to bet on all three of them using winning, without any doubts, it was that tight. 

Modrić was rewarded for his superb season in both Real Madrid and the national team. The Croatian midfielder was without a doubt instrumental in Real Madrid’s taking home the third straight UEFA Champions League. This has been a stellar year for Modrić as he had previously won the Golden Ball at the 2018 World Cup in Russia and had also been named UEFA’s 2017/18 Men’s Player of the Year in August.

In his acceptance speech, Modrić expressed his gratitude both for the season he had with Real Madrid culminating in the UEFA Champions League win and captaining Croatia in the final of the World Cup.

National team coaches, captains, selected media members, and online voting, decide the winner of this award.

Marta wins Best Women’s Player

Marta, the legend of Brazilian women’s football playing for Orlando Pride, won the award of the Best FIFA Women’s player for 2018, which is her sixth FIFA award for the best player, having already won in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, and 2010. Other finalists included Dzsenifer Marozsán and Ada Hegerberg, both playing for French Lyon.

Marta scored 13 goals and had six assists in the National Women’s Soccer League Playoffs, and she was also the captain of the Brazilian team which won the Copa America Femenina title, after winning all seven matches at the tournament.

Other awards

All three finalists for the Best FIFA goalkeeper play in English clubs and Chelsea’s Thibaut Courtois took home the trophy, having beaten Hugo Lloris and Kasper Schmeichel for the title.

The FIFA Puskás Award, named after Ferenc Puskás, for the most beautiful goal of the year was awarded to Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah for his strike against Everton.

Didier Deschamps was the winner of the Best FIFA Men’s Coach award for his achievement in leading the French national team at this year’s World Cup which resulted in their victory in the final match over Croatia. He became the third man to win the Cup as both a player and a coach.

Reynald Pedros won the Best FIFA Women’s Coach award for guiding Lyon to the final of the Coupe de France Feminine and the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

The FIFA Fan award went to Peru supporters supporting their national team at the World Cup to witness Peru’s first World Cup appearance after 36 years. More than 40,000 Peruvians went to Russia and will be remembered for bringing their joy and enthusiasm when rooting for their team.

The FIFA FIFPro World11 2018 awards for the football dream team went to David De Gea, Dani Alves, Raphael Varane, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modrić, N’Golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Kylian Mbappe.

Leave a Reply